ITF women’s tennis: Shrivalli rallies to beat Rutuja

National champion Shrivalli Bhamidipaty recovered from being down 6-0, 3-1 to beat Rutuja Bhosale 0-6, 6-4, 6-0 within the first spherical of the NECC $25,000 ITF women’s tennis match on the Deccan Gymkhana on Tuesday.

The 20-year-old, who had to come by means of the qualifying occasion, was taking part in 25-year-old Rutuja for the primary time within the skilled circuit. A participant with an all-round explosive recreation, Shrivalli had the arrogance to arrest the development in opposition to a high quality participant and switch the tide in her favour.

In the second spherical, Shrivalli will play fifth seed Nigina Abduraimova of Uzbekistan, who dismissed So-Ra Lee of Korea for the lack of 4 video games.

Wild card entrant Farhat Aleen Qamar led 6-2, 1-1 in opposition to Y. Pranjala when the latter retired with an damage. Farhat Aleen will problem the third seed Chihiro Muramatsu of Japan within the second spherical.

Another wild card entrant, Vaidehi Chaudhari beat qualifier Weronika Baszak of Poland in straight units.

Sowjanya Bavisetti and Akanksha Nitture had been unable to capitalise on their probabilities after they gained the primary units in opposition to Ekaterina Reyngold and Valeriya Strakhova.

Karman Kaur Thandi was the one different Indian participant to attain the second spherical, and did so on the expense of fortunate loser Soha Sadiq.

Karman will meet the highest seed Nefisa Berberovic within the second spherical.

The outcomes: First spherical: Nefisa Berberovic (BIH) bt Naho Sato (Jpn) 6-3, 7-5; Karman Kaur Thandi bt Soha Sadiq 6-1, 6-3; Ekaterina Reyngold (Rus) bt Sowjany Bavisetti 4-6, 6-2, 6-3; Akiko Omae (Jpn) bt Arthi Muniyan 6-1, 6-2; Diana Marcinkevica (Lat) bt Nidhi Chilumula 6-0, 6-1; Zhibek Kulambayeva (Kaz) bt Clara Vlasselaer (Bel) 3-6, 6-3, 7-5; Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Weronika Baszak (Pol) 6-2, 6-4; Valeriya Strakhova (Ukr) bt Akanksha Nitture 6-7(0), 6-0, 6-1; Ekaterina Yashina (Rus) bt Funa Kozaki (Jpn) 6-1, 6-2; Moyuka Uchijima (Jpn) bt Shreya Tatavarthy 6-0, 6-0; Farhat Aleen Qamar bt Y. Pranjala 6-2, 1-1 (retired); Chihiro Muramatsu (Jpn) bt Hiroko Kuwata (Jpn) 7-5, 6-3; Nigina Abduraimova (Uzb) bt So-Ra Lee (Kor) 6-3, 6-1; Shrivalli Bhamidipaty bt Rutuja Bhosale 0-6, 6-4, 6-0; Misaki Matsuda (Jpn) bt Sathwika Sama 6-1, 6-3; Anna Danilina (Kaz) bt Zeel Desai 7-6(3), 6-3.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.